How to upgrade or downgrade my plan?

In this article, you will learn how to change plans that suit your business the best at the given time.
On November 09, 2022, GemPages announced the new updates to the pricing plans. Rest assured that this will not affect your current subscriptions, but only new installs and future upgrades/downgrades.

How do I upgrade or downgrade my plan? 

GemPages offers various kinds of plans to fit your individual needs. We're fully aware that a business has different requirements in a particular growth stage. Therefore, we make it super simple to upgrade or downgrade your plan.

 

From the GemPages Dashboard, click on "See Plan" on the bottom left of the screen. 


 

Otherwise, kindly navigate to Account Settings > Plan Information and select See plans or access the pricing plan via this link.

 

 

After that, the pricing plan page shows up like the image below. Please select the plan you would like to upgrade or downgrade to. 

 

 

If you’re new to GemPages, we welcome you with a 30-day free trial as a Business user. To install GemPages on your store, click here.

Your trial will be forfeited after upgrading to a paid plan. 

Your created pages will not be impacted in case you upgrade or downgrade from your current plan. 
In case you’re running A/B testing, all the ongoing campaigns will run until the completion date even when you decide to downgrade your plan.

How will I be charged if:

1. I upgrade/downgrade to a different plan with the same period package:
The app will prompt you to agree to a new recurring app charge. Since Shopify allows only one recurring app charge to be enabled simultaneously, the existing recurring application charge will be canceled and replaced by the new charge. 

 

Following Shopify terms, your GemPages billing cycle won't be changed after you upgrade or downgrade your plan.

 

For example, your current monthly billing cycle is from November 10th to December 10th, and you upgraded your plan from the Build plan to Optimize plan on 20th November. The billing cycle will remain the same and not restart from November 20th to December 20th.

 

Let’s say you begin a 30-day billing cycle on the Starter plan ($15) and then upgrade to the Build plan ($29) on the 11th day of the billing cycle. You will be charged $15 + ($29.00 - $15.00) * (19/30) = $23.87. In which:


 - $29.00 - $15.00 is the difference between the Build plan and the Starter plan.

 - 19/30 is the number of days left on your current billing cycle after you update your plan. 

 - ($29.00 - $15.00) * (19/30) = $8.87 is the prorated fee. 

 - $23.87 is the fee for the current billing cycle.


When you downgrade your plan, you will be offered an application credit based on the difference in price and the number of days remaining in the billing cycle. Please click here for a better understanding of the Shopify App Billing cycle.

 

2. I change from the Monthly package to the Annual package - same plan:
The annual package will be active immediately on the day you make the purchase. In your next recurring payment, you will be charged the price of the newly selected annual plan, with a deduction of the cost paid for the number of days remaining in the monthly package in the previous 30-day billing cycle.

 

Let's say you begin a 30-day billing cycle on the monthly Build plan ($29) then upgrade to the annual Build package ($278.4) on the 11th day of the billing cycle. You will be charged: ($29/30*11 + $23.2/30*19) + $23.2*11 = $280.53. In which:

        - $23.2*11 is the value of the remaining 11 months in the annual Build package.
        - $29/30*19 is the value of the 11 days you when are on the monthly plan; $23.2/30*11 is the value of the remaining 19 days (in the 30-day Shopify billing cycle) after you have upgraded to the Annual package. 

 

3. I change from the Annual package to the Monthly package - same plan:
Switching from the annual package to the monthly package of the same plan will be recorded as Cancelling the annual plan. You will be refunded 80% of the remaining months that you have not used in your annual package value and you will have to re-subscribe to the new monthly package if you want to continue using it.

 

4. I upgrade/downgrade plans and change the period package from Monthly to Annually:
The annual package will be active immediately on the day you make the purchase. In your next recurring payment, you will be charged the price of the newly selected annual plan, with a deduction of the cost paid for the number of days remaining in the monthly package in the previous 30-day billing cycle.

 

Let's say you begin a 30-day billing cycle on the monthly Build plan ($29) then switch to annual Optimize package ($566.4) on the 11th day of the billing cycle. You will be charged: ($29/30*11 + $47.2/30*19) + $47.2*11= $559.73. In which:       
        - $47.2*11 is the value of the remaining 11 months in the annual Optimize package.
        - $29/30*11 is the value of the 11 days you when are on the monthly Build plan; $47.2/30*19 is the value of the remaining 19 days (in the 30-day Shopify billing cycle) after you have upgraded to the annual Optimize package.

 

5. I upgrade/downgrade plans and change the period package from Annually to Monthly:
Switching from the annual package to the monthly package will be recorded as Cancelling the annual plan. You will be refunded 80% of the remaining months that you have not used in your annual package value and you will have to re-subscribe to the new monthly package if you want to continue using it.

 

Understanding how to upgrade or downgrade your plan and the differences between them is important to choose the right plan for your business. Hopefully, this article will help make the process as simple and intuitive as possible. 

 

If you have further questions about the topic, please let us know directly via email & live chat to have them answered! 

 


Was this helpful?