What will happen if I pause or close my store?

For any reason, if you need to step away from your store for a while, Shopify provides you with a few pause and close plan options. We'll go over the main points of each option you need to keep in mind about your store and more importantly, your GemPages subscription in this article.

 

Basically, Shopify offers you two Pause plans: Pause and Build, and Pause (completely step away from your store). The Pause and Build plan is priced at $9 USD per month, and the Pause plan is free of charge. To be eligible to pause your store using either Pause or Pause and Build, your store needs to be on a paid plan and at least 60 days past the free trial period. If your store doesn't meet these criteria, then you can't pause your store.

 

Charges

Pause and Build

    • Like other Shopify apps, GemPages will still charge when you use this plan.
    • The subscription will be automatically renewed following your billing cycle.
    • The Pause and Build plan is priced at $9 USD per month.

Pause completely

According to Shopify's policy: As of December 15, 2021, the Complete Pause plan will no longer be available. If you selected the Pause plan before December 15, then you can remain on the Pause plan for 90 days from the date that you activated the Pause plan. After 90 days, you are upgraded to the Pause and Build plan. More information on this can be found in this Shopify article.
    • With this plan, your store is paused for up to 03 months without being charged for any GemPages plan you have subscribed to.
    • While you are on this plan, you will not be able to access your GemPages to work on your store or sell to customers.

Close your store

    • You may consider cancelling your GemPages subscription to avoid being billed externally after you close your store. See this article to know how to cancel your plan.

Your Pages created with GemPages

Pause and Build

    • All of your pages are unaffected.
    • You can also use GemPages as normal.
During this time, your customers can visit your store and browse your products, but they can't purchase your products. In order to avoid poor customer experience, you can create an under-construction page and possibly collect their email addresses to let them know when you are ready to come back or for any further communication.

Pause your store completely & Close your store

    • Templates cannot be shared from paused or closed stores.
    • You will not be able to access GemPages to make any changes.

 

No matter which plans you choose, if you uninstall GemPages, all images on your pages, which were saved on our highest speed CDN, will be moved to the lower speed CDN after 03 months. Visit our article to understand more about what happens when you uninstall GemPages and if you need any further assistance, our GemPages Support Team is here for you.

 

We are available via email or live chat.


Was this helpful?